

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes February 10, 2016

I. Call to Order

Kari Arnoldsen, President Faculty Senate, called to order the regular meeting of the Faculty Senate at 3:35 pm on February 10, 2016 in the Lorenzo and Erastus Snow Conference Room.

II. Roll Call

Members of the Senate Present: Kari Arnoldsen, Alan Palmer, Jonathan Bodrero, Jeff Carney, Erick Faatz, Nick Marsing, Danni Larsen, Katie Justesen, Ted Olson, Vance Larsen and Kayla Christensen. LaFaun Barnhurst participated by telephone as a representative of the Business and Applied Technology Division. Steve Hood, Sara Golding, Garth Sorenson, and Brian Newbold also attended the meeting. Katie Justesen and Vance Larsen were welcomed to the Senate. Katie is the adjunct representative and Vance is Rick Wheeler's replacement as the representative of the Division of Fine Arts.

III. Approval of Minutes

The minutes of January 27, 2016 were approved. Jonathan Bodrero made a motion to approve the minutes with Nick Marsing providing the second. The minutes were unanimously approved.

IV. Open Issues and Committee Reports

Kari Arnoldsen welcomed Sara Golding, Director of Scholarships and two members of the Engineering Faculty, Garth Sorenson and Brian Newbold to discuss the proposed changes to the current Scholarship Policy specifically those relating to engineering students, new section 15.3.5 on page 3. There was some concern and confusion on why these changes are being made and if there was a need to re-establish a Scholarship Committee. Garth Sorenson explained that the purpose of the change was merely to put into policy the practice that has been followed for the last several years, i.e., allowing declared pre-engineering students to maintain their scholarship if a GPA of 3.0 is maintained (changed from a GPA of 3.5). After considerable discussion by members of the Senate, Sara Golding reminded the members that the scholarship in question is actually only a tuition waiver and does not come from a pool of money. The guidelines for waivers states that total academic waivers cannot exceed 10% of tuition generated. The 30-day review period ends on February 25th and the College Council will meet again on March 14th to discuss finalizing this policy change.

As a response to College Council during the 30-day review of this policy change, it was determined that Faculty Senate would make a recommendation. The specific details of the response will be finalized at the next Senate meeting..



Committee reports were then presented from all committees that had met since last Senate meeting.

- Benefits Ted Olson. The Compensation Committee has been divided into two subcommittees, the Data Subcommittee (to determine who is below the 50% margin) and the Policy Subcommittee (to determine how to increase those who are below the 50% margin). The Compensation Committee will make its recommendations to the President by April 20, 2016.
- *Curriculum Committee* Jeff Carney. The Curriculum Committee is still working on revising their constitution, outlining duties and aligning policy with practice. They are also working on stricter policies on faculty members modifying their courses.
- Advancement and Tenure Kari Arnoldsen. Elaine Compton has spent several months working on revising the Advancement and Tenure document. It should be available for review within 10 days. Although she has done a tremendous amount of work on these revisions, it may be beneficial to have Morris Haggerty, Snow's legal counsel, review the document and prepare a shortened, standardized version.
- *Professional Track* Alan Palmer. A suggestion was made that this Committee consider having Morris Haggerty draft the Professional Track policy revisions.

Kari Arnoldsen then reviewed the status of the at-large faculty members serving on College Council and reminded the members of the Senate of the need to move forward to have these faculty representatives serve for three-year terms. The members of the Senate reviewed the proposed email that will be sent to all faculty members to let them know of the election process. After considerable discussion on the possibility of unequal representation between divisions, it was determined to move forward with the voting to replace Mike Brenchley as an at large member of College Council. Upon a motion made by Kari Arnoldsen and seconded by Jonathan Bodrero, the motion passed 6 to 4.

There being no further discussion a motion was made by Ted Olson and seconded by Kari Arnoldsen and the meeting was adjourned at 5:10 pm. The next regularly scheduled Faculty Senate meeting is Wednesday, February 24, 2016 in the Lorenzo and Erastus Snow Conference Room.

Respectfully submitted,

Sue Ann Walker, CPS