SNOW COLLEGE

Faculty Senate Meeting Summary Notes (Summary of meeting highlights only. See agenda from 3/24/2021.) March 24, 2021

I. Call to order

Larry Smith called to order the regular meeting of the Snow College Faculty Senate at 3:30 p.m. on March 24, 2021. The Senate met via Zoom video conference.

II. Roll Call

Senate Members: Senate President Larry Smith, Senate Vice President Matt Gowans, Jay Olsen, Jacob Thomas, Jed Rasmussen, Sandra Cox, Nate Seamons, Wes Jamison, Nick Marsing, Faculty Association President Renee Faatz, Adjunct Representative Adam Burningham, Student Representative Brady Curtis, Senate Parliamentarian Erick Faatz

Others: College President Brad Cook, Provost Melanie Jenkins, TLC Committee Chair Kade Parry, Associate Vice President of Online Initiatives Diane Johnson

III. Minutes approved for February 24, 2021. Motion made by R. Faatz, second by J. Olsen and unanimous vote of approval.

IV. Associate Vice President of Online Initiatives Diane Johnson introduced herself to Faculty Senate members.

V. Senate committee senator reports.

VI. Faculty Senate president and vice president selection process discussed.

VII. Professional Development Committee visit and report.

VIII. College Council position selection process discussed.

A. A motion was made by Jay Olsen that nominations from all divisions should be allowed and that a ranked choice voting system be used for the voting process. There was a second by Jacob Thomas with 6 senate members voting in favor, 3 opposed, and 3 abstaining.

IX. The Free Speech policy draft was discussed. Senate members will vote on a draft after a legal review by Morris Haggerty.

X. Senate members were asked to consider the possibility of raising tuition for Snow College students.

Adjournment

President Smith adjourned the meeting at 5:06 p.m.

The next regular meeting will be 3:30 p.m., Wednesday, April 14, 2021.

Summary submitted by Erick Faatz Revised 4/12/2021 Approved 9/8/2021